#1 Weekly roundup Autopsy: Facebook ad examples

Facebook Ad Examples We would like to introduce you to the Autopsy of Facebook Ads: Real Examples with Real Analysis.

Every week we will make dissection of current Facebook Ads and the main reason for this kind of presentation is you.

If you are new to Facebook Advertising and you are full with questions, you can read about the pros and cons of real examples.

You need to have a lot of knowledge for creating successful Facebook Ad

  • that will drive traffic to your Website
  • generate leads and build your List
  • make sells and grow your business

You need to know things from different topics like

  • copywriting
  • designing
  • web designing
  • inbound marketing
  • online marketing

So, we decided to analyze several Facebook Ads every week, so that you learn from our experienced eye what is ok or what is wrong when you create Facebook Ads or a Landing Page.

But, it will be a good journey and we would be pleased if you contribute in our analysis and write your thoughts into the comment section.

Together, we can learn some hidden techniques for creating Winning Facebook Ads.

So, let’s start with the first Facebook Ad example and analyse it.

EXAMPLE #1 – Facebook Ad example

Roundup Example No. 1 Facebook Ad Example PictureThe first example that we will analyze is a right column Facebook Ad and it consists of 4 main elements:

  • Picture
  • Headline: Grow Your Business online Without a List
  • Website URL: Action Guide & Video Training ~ Download
  • Text: Learn the critical things you need to know to launch a successful business online!

In Website URL section we can see that there is a Call-to-Action -> “Download”. 


Since 80% of the impact is created from the image, it needs to be eye-catching and relevant to your product or service.

So, here we have high quality picture with some text on it.

The text is written with a non-default font and that is good, because it differentiates from other Ads that use standard fonts.

So, TIP 1: When you design image for Facebook Ads don’t use standard fonts

There are 3 lines of text on the image. The first line is big and readable, but the second line is too small. The third line is also readable but it’s not eye-catching.

The photo is with many people rising hands that associate to Success. So, the image is relevant to the product, in this Facebook Ad.

Maybe it is too dark, with Blue shade, not appropriate for Facebook Ads, because Facebook is Blue.

TIP 2: Use colors different than Blue because Facebook’s user interface is blue.

The bottom orange border line with 3 arrows that points to the Headline is a winning strategy for this Facebook Ad. It’s eye-catching and gets a lot attention for visitors and also points to Headline that you need to read.

TIP 3: Use borders when it is meaningful for your Image. Don’t overuse them inappropriately.


Grow Your Business Online Without a List -> we can see that the first letters are capitalized. Probably the author wants to get attention with capitalizing the first letters of the words. Some copywriters suggest this technique for the Headline, and we support this for grabbing attention.

TIP 4: Capitalize first letters of the words in the Headline for grabbing attention.

We can see that there is paint point for all new marketers that the author mentions in the Headline: growing business without list. This sentence, also contains Promise.

This is strong Headline, because prompts curiosity, and that is: how to grow online business without owning a list. Everyone that has this kind of problem will click on the link, to see what the author suggests, what is solution to this problem.

Website URL – in this field is the url where visitors will go after clicking the Facebook Ad. Normally, this is the domain name of the website. However, there is no domain name in this ad, but text like “Action Guide & Video Training ~ Download”. This is enigma to us, how this has happened.

TEXT Autopsy

The Ad text “Learn the critical things you need to know to launch a successful business online!” is somehow broad against the headline, because there are many models of online businesses, and it’s very hard to separate critical things for all business models.

In the headline the main benefit is Growing Business, and here in the text is Launch a Successful business. So, the audience may get confused what the Ad is about? Growing is different than Launching.

We can see the letters are not capitalized here, because this is text, not headline. The visitors need to read the text not to get their attention.

TIP 5: Don’t Capitalize letters in Facebook Ads Text.

RoundUp End

That’s it. Maybe you’ve learned something new from this Autopsy. This is our first roundup, we didn’t analyze the Landing Page, but in other RoundUps we will.

Landing Pages are also very important part of Marketing Funnels.

If you find this helpful please subscribe to our blog list and stay tuned with lots of new information.

Creative is the Best way to advertise on Facebook

What Facebook offers with the Advertising Platform is to show your message to people you choose from its database (Targeted Audience). It offers variety positions: news feed (desktop and mobile), right column and audience network. And, the latest: Instagram Ads.

It also lets you to choose your objective for your campaign: new page likes, promoting post, website clicks, conversions, promoting events, offers…

However, it is nowhere stated that Facebook guarantees any kind of success for your Campaigns. So, Facebook just gives you space to advertise and promote yourself to people of your choice.

So, what would be the best way to advertise on Facebook? The answer is short: Be Creative.

Best way to advertise on Facebook imgAlthough the answer is short the execution is not so short.

Facebook has some creative tips for making your Ads, but are they enough? They just give you some guidance, but what you have to do is know your target audience and guess what they like.

So, how to advertise on Facebook best?

Catch the eye

The first thing you should focus on when creating your Facebook Ad is the visual part. It is the most engaging part of the Facebook Ad. So, make the image grab attention. You have to take in mind Facebook image dimensions, so that it appears just as you want it to be and show users your point with the image. Also, mind the 20% text rule and make sure your Ad is approved.

Do you think your you can use video in your Ad, based on your Objective? Use it. Video is what catches the most attention. However, many are using video just to use it, without it making sense with what they offer. So, once you decide to use video in your ad, make sure it is relevant to what you offer.

Once you catch their attention:

Be precise

Don’t let the users wander around and skip your ad because they can’t figure what to do. Let them know immediately what to do, why take that action and what they are going to get out of it.

  • Make the Headline actionable: Tell users what to do once they see your Ad. Let them know straight away what your Ad is about and don’t do hidden messages. If you want to fool users, that can only bring you either unqualified leads, or bad Relevance score and Facebook treatment.
  • Use copywriting: Define the problem and offer solution. Include benefits and tell users your product or service different from any other?
  • Tell users Next Step: In the context of Be precise, you should have clear Call-to-Action and encourage people to take action and click on your Ads.
  • Mind the Landing Page: If you take people outside Facebook platform, you certainly are taking them to a Landing Page. Be sure the Landing Page is relevant to your Ads and share the same message. Otherwise the visitors may be confused and less conversions you’ll get.

Make it relevant

Facebook will assess your ads, starting from your image, ad copy, landing page and give each Relevance Score. If you want your Ads to be treated well by Facebook and shown to your Relevant Audience, you have to make sure your Relevance Score is higher.

The Creative Tips from Facebook combined with these tips will guide you make more relevant and better performing Ads.

Let us know your Facebook Ads experience. Share an image of your latest Ad and we’ll let you know how it can be improved.

Facebook Ads Targeting: Exclude Option

Facebook Ads Targeting Exclude Option Feature ImageFacebook Manager is a platform that changes very often. So, if you are advertiser who utilizes Facebook Ads, you can see those changes in the user interface almost on a daily basis.

Facebook Ads Power Editor is the tool that you need to check first if you want to try new things. I think that Facebook tries new options first at the Power Editor and then they implement those options into the standard Facebook Ads Manager.

There are options that with the standard Facebook Manager you can’t do, and with the Power Editor you can.

Just one week before writing this article, there was option to Exclude audience by interest or behavior only in the Power Editor. And now, I can see that option with a completely different way of creating Facebook Ads into the Facebook Manager, too.

But first, let’s talk about Targeting Problems.

Facebook Ads Targeting: Exclude Interest Targeting Problem

Now, I will define the problem.

If you use Facebook Advertisements a lot, like myself, you certainly have met the problem of exclusion.

Everybody knows that you can target people by interest on Facebook. This type of Facebook targeting gives more and more power from day to day.


You can even target somebody else’s audience, if you choose their Facebook Page.

But, there is one more type of targeting, like Behavior Targeting. In this category, there are listed targets, by People’s behavior on the Facebook Platform. Very often these two types of targeting are interlaced, but in some cases it’s good to have both of them.

What was missing there was Exclusion between this types of targeting.

For example:

  • If you target by interest: Business and Industry > Architecture
  • and you want behavior: Travel > Currently Travel

it mean that your selected Audience is: people interested in Architecture that are traveling at the moment.

Interest (Architecture) Behavior (Currently Traveling) Architecture and Currently Traveling Architecture and Currently NOT Traveling
Potential Reach: 72,000,000 people 6,200,000 people 2,300,000 people 70,000,000 people
People Interest in Architecture
1 People Interested in Architecture
People Currently Traveling
2 People Currently Traveling
People Interest in Architecture and Currently Traveling
3 People Interest in Architecture and Currently Traveling
People Interest in Architecture and Currently NOT Traveling
4 People Interest in Architecture and Currently NOT Traveling

Before the last targeting changes, there were no Facebook Targeting option to target people with interest on Architecture that are not travelling at the moment. Now, Facebook enables this option, first implemented into the Power Editor, and then into the Facebook Ads Manager, too.

Vertical versus Horizontal Facebook Ads Targeting

Why was it very important to have exclude options in Facebook Ads targeting? Because of Vertical and Horizontal targeting.

Back to marketing basics 🙂

What does this mean?

Vertical market targeting means that you can target people by their Industries, like:

  • Economics,
  • Construction,
  • Banking and

Horizontal means that your Audience is distributed among several Industries.

For example, horizontal targeting is selecting all CEO managers, or everyone with College degree.

So, back to the problem.

Everyone knows that United States is very competitive market and the whole world wants to advertise on that Market Online. One of the horizontal targeting is Small Business Owners. Lot of advertisers want to target this Audience all over the world.

This is a category that many advertisers target and want to sell products to them. So, the competition for this target is very high.

If you want to test targets don’t choose Horizontal targeting. Instead, choose Vertical market targets for testing!

Don’t put $5 or $10 to test horizontal market. Because of the very high competition, your campaign will have little impressions, or in the worst case no impression at all.

Also, when someone targets Vertical Market, some part of this Audience belongs in some Horizontal Market, too. So, it can happen, nobody to target Horizontally, but all people to be covered from it, because it is targeted on Vertical Markets.
horizontal and vertical targeting

From the picture above we can see that if advertisers target by vertical markets, they will cover people from horizontal markets. For example, if someone targets V1, 30 people will be covered from horizontal targeting. If someone targets V2, then 20 people will be covered from horizontal targeting etc…

So, if there are advertisers that are targeting V1, V2, V3, V4 will cover all people from horizontal targeting even though there is no one targeting horizontal.

From this, we can conclude that horizontal targeting may be more competitive than vertical and whenever you can escape horizontal targeting, exclude it.

Theoretically, you can gain better Facebook Ads results if you exclude or remove horizontal market from your targeting.

Now, with the Facebook Ads recent changes you can easily Exclude unnecessary Horizontal targets from Vertical targets.

For example, I realize that horizontal target “Small Business Owners” is highly competitive and if you don’t necessary need to target this market, you can exclude it from your Vertically targeting when you are creating Facebook Ads.

If you have some objections or some other similar findings please comment your thoughts.

Read more about Facebook Ads:

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What are Facebook Ads specs recommendations?

Facebook Ads Recommendations PictureDigital platforms not only destroyed the monopoly on the approach of informing the public that traditional media held, but also destroyed the domination they had in the spending of advertising budgets.

Marketers have reduced their advertising budget to fund more digital marketing. According to the last researches, digital advertising accounted almost 30 percent of total advertising market.That number is very significant for marketing, and it is important not to be overlooked because the growth index is higher with every given year.

Advertising on internet is dynamic and expanding and it is dominated by social media, more precisely by big technology companies that control more than a half of the total digital advertising market. By percentage, Facebook is the bigger participant in digital advertising market, and for that matter, advertising on Facebook is very important for any business. Times are changed, and the internet provides new opportunities for advertisers to follow the behavior and habits of the audience and target groups. That situation is especially favorable for search engines and social networks.

Because of the all above mentioned practices, advertisement on Facebook means serious advertising strategy that covers the need for careful planning. For that matter, Facebook ads specs are continually developing and improving in order to be relevant and useful for marketers. Constant developing means constant change, so that’s why it’s important to be accurately informed and up to date.

Facebook ads specs include design specs, because it’s crucial for the ad to look good in every Facebook appearance.

The purpose of guidelines is your ad to be always on spot and with good quality. That’s why they are recommendations about text placements, text length and image size. Facebook ad will be displayed on big screens and also on small phone screens, so the most important thing is equal ad quality.

The importance of Facebook recommendations:

1. General guidelines for Facebook ads specs


First recommendation of Facebook ads specs is text length. If your objective is to drive awareness and engagement with a message, than text must be 90 characters long and not have to include more than 20% text. This is because of the quality of displaying ad copy on small screens. From the total 90 characters, headline must be 25 characters and link description 30 characters.


Recommended image ratio: 1.9:1 and recommended image sizes are 1,200 x 628 pixels, but due to the different objectives and needs of the ad, there are recommended different image sizes. It is important to know that if you picture is larger than specified dimensions, it’ll be automatically resized to fit. Banners are still first choice of standard display advertising, but now video advertisements are not so far behind, so the recommended sizes for video views are 1,200 x 675 pixels. There are clear rules about animated or flash images and they are not supported on Facebook.


Video guidelines applicable to all regarding thumbnail image size:
Thumbnail image size should match the aspect ratio of your video. Your thumbnail image may not include more than 20% text, and that is general specification for every type of ads.

General recommendations:

  • Text: 90 characters;
  • Headline: 25 characters;
  • Video: H.264 video compression, high profile preferred, square pixels, fixed frame rate, progressive scan;
  • Format: .mp4;
  • Length: it should be 45 minutes max.

2. Specific guidelines based on the advertising objective

There are many different objectives and types of ads and each ad type has different goal. The purpose of these specifications is to offer best quality in communications with viewers and customers. For effortless understanding, it’s considerable to separately display all of them.

Page Post Engagement ads: 

Photo specifications

Recommended News Feed:

  • Image size: 1,200 x 900 pixels;
  • Image ratio: 4:3;
  • Right column image size: 254 x 133 pixels;
  • Right column image ratio: 1.9:1; and
  • Text: 90 characters

Video specifications

General recommendations.

Note: Page Post Engagement ads cannot be placed on the right column and text should be 500 characters long.

Page Like ads

Photo specifications

  • Image size: 1,200 x 444 pixels;
  • Image ratio: 2.7:1;
  • Text: 90 characters;
  • Headline: 25 characters.

Video specifications

General recommendations but different frames: 30fps max.

Clicks to Website ads

Photo specifications

  • Image size: 1,200 x 628 pixels;
  • Image ratio: 1.9:1;
  • Text: 90 characters;
  • Headline: 25 characters;
  • Link description: 30 characters.

Video specifications

General recommendations.

Website Conversions

Photo specifications

  • Image size: 1,200 x 628 pixels;
  • Image ratio: 1.9:1;
  • Text: 90 characters;
  • Headline: 25 characters;
  • Link description: 30 characters.

Video specifications

General recommendations but different frames: 30fps max;

App Installs ads

Photo specifications

  • Image size: 1,200 x 628 pixels;
  • Image ratio: 1.9:1;

Video specifications

General recommendations but different frames: 30fps max;

App Engagement


Photo specifications

  • Image size: 1,200 x 628 pixels;
  • Image ratio: 16:9;
  • Text: 90 characters.

Display Specs:

  • Image displays as: 560 x 293 pixels;
  • App name title: 1 line, 32 characters;
  • Text: 110 characters.

Video specifications

General recommendations but different frames: 30fps max;

Display Specs:

  • Image displays as: 560 x 315 pixels;
  • App name title: 1 line,  32 characters;
  • Text: 110 characters


Photo specifications

  • Image size: 1,200 x 628 pixels;
  • Text: 90 characters.

Video specifications

General recommendations but different frames: 30fps max;

Local Awareness

These ads are available on Desktop News Feed and Mobile News Feed, but not on Right Column.

Photo specifications

  • Image size: 1,200 x 628 pixels;
  • Image ratio: 1.9:1;
  • Text: 90 characters;
  • Headline: 25 characters;
  • News feed description: 30 characters.

Event Responses

Photo specifications

  • Image size: 1,200 x 444 pixels;
  • Image ratio: 2.7:1;
  • Text: 90 characters;
  • Headline: 25 characters.

Offer Claims

Photo specifications

  • Image size: 1,200 x 628 pixels;
  • Image ratio: 1.9:1;
  • Offer title: 25 characters;
  • Text: 90 characters.

Video Views

Design guidelines

  • Text: 90 characters;
  • Video: H.264 video compression, high profile preferred, square pixels, fixed frame rate, progressive scan;
  • Frames: 30fps max;
  • Format: .mp4;
  • Recommended aspect ratio: 1.33:1 / 4:3 / SDTV, 1.375:1 / film, 1.77 / 16.9 / HDTV, 1.85:1 / Film, 2:39:1 or 2:40:1 / Widescreen, no pillar boxing or letter boxing;
  • Audio: Stereo AAC audio compression, 128kbps + preferred;
  • File Size: Up to 1.75GB max;
  • Bitrate: No limit to bitrate file if you’re using two pass encoding, as long as your file doesn’t exceed 1 GB. Otherwise, 8 megabits per second for 1080p and 4 megabits per second for 720p;
  • Length: 45 minutes max.

These ads are available on Desktop Newsfeed, Mobile News Feed, and Right Column.

More about Facebook Ads:

Facebook Ads cost: What is good CTR or How much to pay for Website Clicks?

Facebook Ads Costs CalculatorIf you are new to Facebook Ads, you probably want to know: How much do Facebook Ads Cost?

According to Facebook:

“The minimum daily budget for any ad set is $1.00 USD and must be at least 2 times your cost per click (CPC) bid. For example, if you have a $1.00 CPC, your daily budget must be at least $2.00.”

In this post we will describe what is CPC, Facebook Ads budgeting, costs for different Facebook ad objectives.

But, the most important thing that you will learn is: What results to expect and gain sense of what are good Facebook Ads results.  

Most marketers concentrate on explaining what are CPC, CPM, CPA, or CTR and other Facebook Ads Units, but too few of them will tell you their achievements.

When I first started with Facebook Ads, I learned very fast the user interface and got familiar with the terms and different ways of creating campaigns. Facebook Ads Manager is quite intuitive and easy to use. But, what is it that every new advertiser will ask himself when starting with Facebook ads?

Are the results from my campaign good or not? Should I continue with the campaign or no? Do I get average results like other marketers, or I get very expensive costs? What are the average numbers for different units and acceptable costs range?

Let’s begin step by step…

If you’ve never tried Facebook Ads, don’t be afraid, create your first ad and start with Facebook Advertising.

Creating Facebook Ad

Just go to your Facebook Account and select Create Ads or Manage Ads from the drop down menu in upper right corner. If you choose Manage Ads you will be redirected to your Facebook Ads Manager.

Creating Facebook Ad

Or you can create new Facebook Ads directly from your Facebook Ads Manager:

Creating Facebook Ad Image


How much do you want to spend?

When you create Campaign for the first time, you need to select Objective and then in the second window Facebook will ask you: How much do you want to spend?

Daily and Lifetime Budget Picture

As you see, you can select “Daily Budget”, and insert amount that you want to spent on daily basis. Or, you can select Fix Amount – Lifetime Budget for your Facebook Ads.

Normally, you can choose Start and End Date, and once again, don’t be afraid, you can Stop or Pause Campaign at any time and any moment.

How much to spend on Facebook Ads?

There are 9 types of Facebook Ads Objectives:Facebook Campaign Objectives Image

There are different Facebook Ads Costs for different types of Campaigns and different goals. For example:

If you want to promote your Facebook Page and gain more likes, you need to select objective “Promote your Page” at the beginning of creating your Facebook ad.

When you create this kind of Campaign, you need to measure Page Likes Results. The Cost column in Campaign Result Table tells us Cost Per Page Like:

Page Likes Cost

Form the picture above you can see that Cost Per Page Like for my Webapon Campaign is: $0.40. You can easily sense that for different objectives the cost will vary. In continuation you will see what results to expect for every 9 objectives, but before that you need to know something about targeting.

Targeting and Audience

As you already know, Facebook has big Audience Worldwide and Facebook Users are all over the world. This gives us opportunity to target almost every Country in the World. The power of Facebook Ads is enormous: imagine that you can sell your Products in exotic countries like India, Egypt or Ethiopia.

Facebook Ads use bidding system. If there are many advertisers for the same target, bids rise and cost for Ads rises, too.

Costs for advertising in different countries are different. Facebook Ads Cost is bigger in developed countries with good economy, than in poor economic countries.

Also, you can target Audience by Interest, Age, Sex, Behaviors.

Depending on the type of Product or Service that you are advertising, there are many different Audiences that you can choose. There are 1 billion Facebook users and you need to narrow target audience according to your products.

Facebook Ads Targeting Image

Like I said before, Costs are different according to what kind of Audience you will select.

Facebook Ads Cost by Objective

  • Clicks to Website: Send people to your website.

You can pay Facebook to drive traffic to your Website. If you don’t have Free Organic Traffic from Google, and you need visitors, you can create this kind of campaign. If you target United States, costs for driving traffic is more expensive than if you target Turkey, for example, but the quality of visitors is important, too. You need to drive visitors that are actually potential customers, nobody wants bots on their website. So, what are good numbers for Website clicks?

How much your visitors cost? How much are you willing to pay per one visitor? These are questions that you need to answer before you start the campaign. Also, this is different from business to business. Some businesses that have good conversion rate will pay more money even for 1 visitor, because they will convert them to customers and get profit from them. For example:


If your campaign Reach (number of people the ad was shown to) is 10000, with CTR 1% = 100 website clicks or 100 visitors. 

If you have 1% conversion rate on your Website = 1 visitor will convert and buy your product.

If your product is $100, then you will have 1 sell and earn $100.

So, you have 10000 impression, with CPM $2 (cost per mile = 1000 impressions)  = 2 * 10 = $20.

Cost for 1 sell is $20, and you earn $100 = $80 profit.  This is good for you, you have positive ROI. 

But, if CPM is $20 => 20 * 10 = $200. With this high CPM your costs are bigger than your earnings, and you will have negative ROI and not profitable business.


For Website clicks you need to follow these Units:

CPM form $1 to $4 and Cost per Click to Link <$0.2. With these numbers for $10 you will gain 50 visitors.

These 50 visitors are your potential customers. If you have new Website and you don’t have visitors it’s good start with 50 visitors per day, and for that you will need $10/day or $300 monthly budget for 1500 visitors/month.

Website Clicks expectations Costs
CPM CPC link
COST $1-$4 <$0.2

From this example you can see that there are many factors involved that you need to considered when calculating if your Facebook Ad is successful or not. I will show some numbers, just for illustration, but every advertiser needs to calculate what are good numbers and finally if the Advertisement brings what they need.

Normally, you will set your budget according to your marketing plan and your financial projection.

Here is the complete list for other objectives.

  • Website Conversions: Increase conversions on your website. You’ll need a conversion pixel for your website before you create this ad.
  • Page Post Engagement: Boost your posts.
  • Page Likes: Promote your Page and get Page likes to connect with more people that matter to you.
  • App Installs: Get installs of your app.
  • App Engagement: Increase engagement for your app.
  • Offer Claims: Create offers for people to redeem in your store.
  • Local Awareness: Reach people near your business.
  • Event Responses: Raise attendance at your event.
  • Video Views: Create ads that get more people to view a video.

Facebook Ads Costs CalculatorIf you need to calculate Facebook Ads Cost you can use our FREE tool. This calculator will give you some orientation about how much to expect to spend on Facebook Ads. The most important thing is to optimize your ads, and to make tests. Start with small amount of money until you get numbers that you will be satisfied with. After that you can set bigger amount.

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Who should you write for

Who should you write for ImageThe most confusing question when you start writing Content is who should you write for?

Hubspot marketers always advice you to write for your Target Audience, but if you read Backlinco

“Deadly SEO Mistake #7 is Creating Content for Your Target Audience”.

What is true? Are you confused like me?

If you don’t write for your Audience, who else can you write for?

Every Business has minimum 2 Audiences (by default):

  1. Their Customers
  2. People from the same Industry


If you are in the Furniture business, there are people who would like to buy your Products: Sofa, Chairs, Tables. They are your Customers.

So, you can write articles on your Business Blog for them, your Customers. What do they like to hear from you?

They want to hear about the Quality of the Furniture, where is it made, Guaranties, Prices, Materials that it is made of..

But, you are in the Furniture Industry, too. There are professionals that know their business very well, and they know lots of insider things about the Furniture Business.

You could write for them, too.

Backlinco says that you need to write for People from your industry because they will share your content and put backlinks on their Websites if you write good articles.

Somewhat this is true, because your Customers don’t have Websites, they are buyers not businessmen with Websites.

Everybody knows that backlinks are the most important factor for Google to rank you among the top 10 results.

Hubspot, opposite to Backlinko has different approach, you need to write for your Targeted Audience.

What is Target Audience?

If you are in Furniture Business, and you sell Furniture, target audience is everyone who wants to buy Furniture. Those specialists in the Furniture Business are not your target audience.

Every new marketer sooner or later will meet this problem. Almost, every online marketing authority gives you Editorial Calendars, Tips and tricks how to write content for Audience, How to find new ideas about Content, but this question, who should you write for, is somehow unclear to newbies.

The truth and nothing but the truth is that you should write for both of them.

Why should you write for Both essential Audiences that we defined above?

Let’s explain this now.

For example:

Let’s say that you are Digital Marketing Agency and you offer Facebook Ads Service: PPC for driving traffic.

What is your Target Audience?

Webapon offer this service to their customers, and we have defined to offer this service to Micro and Small Businesses on every vertical market.

This means that we can setup Facebook Ads campaigns to Gardeners, Architects, Butty Salons, Spa Centers, Museums, Sports Shops, Dentists…

What are their interests in Facebook Ads? These are the questions that this Audience concerns.

  • How much Facebook Ads costs?
  • Facebook Ads for Non Profits
  • Facebook Advertising Agency
  • Why advertise on Facebook

What do you think: can you write some Blog Posts on your Corporate Blog and answer these questions? Yes, you can, and you need to answer these questions to your Customers.

But, will Facebook Ads specialists read “Why advertise on Facebook?”, or do they search Google this Keyword?

Certainly not.

So, your Customers will search Google for one Keywords, and the Facebook Ads Specialists will search for other keywords.

Moreover, there are Mixed Keywords. That concern both Audiences, in our example, Facebook Ads Customers, and Facebook Ads Specialists, like:

Why do you need this two Audiences?

You need the First Audience, your Target Audience (Customers) for Engagement:

  • Share
  • Comment
  • Like
  • Buy Products

When they meet your Content, they will become part of your Email List, they will share your Articles on Social Media, they will become loyal customers and Audience. You need to attract them with engaging content and convert them to real business evangelists.

The second one, your industry Specialists Audience, you need them, too.

You need them for Search Engine proof. They will cite you, they will link your Content on their Websites. You can make connections with them.

You can establish as an Authority in your Industry. And, after all, you can get on top of Google if you create Content for them.

Final Thought

Create content for your Target Audience and don’t forget your influencers, and authorities in your industry. You need both of them and if you forget one of them, you are loosing good opportunities.

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Facebook Ads: New Facebook Pixel

Facebook Pixel Feature PictureFacebook introduces New Facebook Pixel.

Old Conversion Tracking Pixel will be removed in 2016. Facebook’s advice is to use new Facebook Pixel

  • for conversion tracking,
  • optimization and
  • remarketing.

Facebook Pixel Tools Menu PictureWhat is Facebook Pixel?

With Facebook Pixel you can track Conversions on your Website, and also you can target Audience that visited your Website from Facebook (Facebook Custom Audience).

How can you track Conversions and Facebook Custom Audience on your Website?

To making this happen, you need to place Java Script Code on your Web Pages. With this code Facebook can track visitors on your pages.

This JS Code is the Facebook Pixel. Facebook generates code for you, and your job is to place it on Web Pages.

Differences between Old Conversion Tracking Pixel and New Facebook Pixel

Facebook Pixel Changes Image

Benefits of using New Facebook Pixel

If you integrate Facebook Pixel on your Website in Facebook Ads Manager you can see Reports of traffic to your Website:

Facebook Pixel Dash Board

Facebook Pixel Code

Facebook Pixel Code Picture


If you look at the picture you can see that there is a pat “Standard Event”. Facebook exposes 9 Standard Events:

Facebook Pixel Standard Events Picture

This represents Actions that People take on your Website. Also, you can define Custom Event. You need to place this Code, with the Event, on some of your pages. But, more on this latter.

Creating Facebook Pixel

You want to create Facebook Pixel? It’s easy. Go to Facebook Ads Manager > Tools > Pixels:

Creating Facebook Pixel Image
Facebook for Business

Choose descriptive name and  Facebook will create your Facebook Pixel. The Next step is to Install the Pixel on your Website.

Creating Facebook Pixel Select Name Picture

Facebook Pixel Ready For Install Image

Facebook will give you option for Email Facebook Pixel code, or you can Copy the code and manually insert it into <head></head> section of your Web Pages.

Facebook Pixel Code For Copy Picture

Conversion Tracking

You can use the New Facebook Pixel for tracking conversions on your Website like:

  • View Content
  • Add to Cart …

In this situation you need to place Facebook Pixel Code on appropriate Web Pages. For example, if you are writing Post or Article, and you want to Boost your Post, you certainly want to know how many people Viewed the Content. So, first install the Pixel Code on your Blog Post page and after that you can setup the campaign including the Facebook Pixel with View Content Standard Event.

How to insert Facebook Pixel Code with View Content Standard Event

In the Pixel Code there is line:


Insert Standard Event Codes after this line of code and then insert Pixel Code on your Page. Here is table with 9 standard event codes:

Facebook Pixel Standard Event Codes Picture

Open your Text Editor and place the code into it:

Facebook Pixel Standard Event Codes View Content Image

or Create Custom Conversion in Facebook Ads Manager – > Tool – > Pixels

Creating Custom Conversion Facebook Pixel Image

When you click next you should enter Name and Conversion Value and then click on Create.

Creating Custom Conversion Facebook Pixel Step 2 Image

What’s next? Next thing to do is to place this code into <head></head> section on your Blog Post or Article Page.

How to place Facebook Pixel on WordPress site

WordPress is great Content Management System because is scalable and there are many Plugins which will do all the job for you. So, first that I will do is to search on Add New Plugin page for “Facebook Pixel”. I found this plugin that is easy to use:

Facebook Pixel Word Press Plugin

Install the plugin and in Settings page of this plugin you can select on which pages you can use Facebook Pixel. We are using default selection:

  • Pages
  • Posts.

We will test the pixel on this Post and you know already that we’ve started Facebook Challenge and share results with you of Facebook Ads Campaigns that we are doing this few months.

Open the Post where you want to place Facebook Pixel and you can see under Post Editor widget for easy entering Pixel Code:

Facebook Pixel Inserting With Plugin Image

If you can’t find it go to the top of the page and into Screen Options > check “Facebook conversion Pixel”.

Setting Campaign with New Facebook Pixel

When your Pixel is ready for use, you can create Facebook Ads with Facebook Pixel for tracking conversions on your Website. There are 9 default Conversions or different activities, like we said before, but you can setup also Custom Conversions.

When you create new Ad, select “Increase conversion on your website” Objective and then select appropriate Facebook Pixel with Conversion Event that you have created before:

Facebook Pixel Website Conversion Campaign

After creating the campaign you can track all events that visitors fire on your website and check reports and statistic on Facebook Ad Manager Dashboard:

Facebook Pixel Report Picture


Remarketing with Creating Audience

Is it a good option to have the opportunity to show your Facebook Ads only to people that have visited your Website? Or, some segment of them?

Facebook Pixel lets this happen.

You can create 4 types of Audience:

  • Anyone who visits your Website in the last X days
  • People who visit specific web pages
  • People who visit specific web pages but not others
  • People who haven’t visited in certain amount of time

Facebook Pixel Custom Audience Image

When you click on Create Audience, then Facebook will collect all Visitors from your Website and you can target this Audience in your Facebook Ads Campaign. Read about best practices and lots of tips here.

This option is known as Remarketing. Ads will be served only to people who recently visit you Website.

Where to put Facebook Pixel for Add to Cart, or Lead?

Many new marketers will be stuck and don’t know where to put Facebook Pixel when they want to measures conversions.

They put Facebook Pixel on page where the Call to Action button is, like “Add to Cart”, “Subscribe”…and they have wrong measurements.

For measuring conversions you need to put Facebook Pixel on Thank you Page not to Landing Page

Facebook Ads Call to Action Button Picture
This is Landing Page with Call to Action “I want FREE Skin Analysis  Don’t add Facebook Pixel here

Add New Facebook Pixel into your “Thank You Page”


Facebook Pixel gives you analytic power and measurements. Without that you can’t make some advanced targeting like Remarketing, what is very popular among modern digital marketers. Tracking conversions is important to know if your marketing efforts are going in the right direction. Use it and you will find tons of useful data to analyze and make better conclusions about your Audience.

Want to know our tests, targeting and Relevance scores?

We are publishing “Facebook Ads Test Challenge” with our latest Ads tests and results.

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Facebook campaign landing page: 4 Tips for better Facebook Ads Relevance Score

When you start creating Facebook Ad you need to select your Campaign Objective.

At the moment of writing this article, there are 9 Facebook Ads Objectives.

Facebook Campaign Objectives Image

If you select campaign objective:

  • “Send people to your website” or
  • “Increase conversions on your website”

You need to specify Facebook Campaign Landing Page.

There are other objectives that you can select, like, Boost your posts, or Promote your Page (Facebook Page), but for these objectives there isn’t an option to specify a Landing Page, because users are redirected to a Facebook Post or your Facebook Page.

Creating Conversion Pixel

In both objectives:

  • “Send people to your Website”
  • Increase conversions on your website

you can select Conversion Pixel that you need to create before creating the Facebook Ads.

How to create Conversion Pixel?

Go to your Ads Manager – > Tools – > select Pixels:Facebook Ads Conversion Pixel Menu Picture

Facebook has introduced new Facebook Pixel and if you open this option for the first time a message will pop up from Facebook:

Facebook Ads Conversion Pixel Message Image

Old Conversion Pixels will be removed from Facebook in the second half of 2016. For conversion tracking, optimization and remarketing, use the Facebook pixel. The new thing is that you can create only one pixel per Facebook Ad Account:One Facebook Pixel Per Facebook Ad Account Picture

Facebook Pixel is code that you need to insert on your Thank you Page (after opt in on Landing Page) to be able to measure conversions and also you can use it for remarketing.

If you are using WordPress for content management, there are plugins for easy inserting Facebook Pixel on your pages or blog posts.

I’m using this plugin:

Facebook Ads Conversion Pixel WordPress Plugin

The difference between “Send people to your Website” and “Increase conversions on your website” is that Facebook will show ads to people that will take action according to the selected objective. You need to test both objectives first to see which objective gives better performance for your ad.

What about Facebook Campaign Landing Page?

facebook campaign landing page img

Facebook campaign landing page is Webpage on your domain. Or, you can choose some provider for creating beautiful Landing Pages.

The first step when you choose objective is to select destination page. Destination page is Landing Page where people will be redirected after they click on your Facebook Ad.

Facebook Ads Destination Page

You need to follow the strict and some general rules when you create Facebook Ads, or you can read about some Facebook Advertising tips here.

But, there are some rules that you need to follow for Facebook campaign landing page, too.

#1 The content of your Facebook Campaign Landing Page needs to be the same with the content on your Facebook Ad

What does this mean? Facebook gives scores to your Facebook Campaigns. Higher Relevance Score means better Campaign performance because the Ad is more relevant to people.

What is Facebook Ad Relevance?

When a Facebook user sees your Ad, his eyes first stop on Ad Picture, then he reads Facebook Ad Title, and then sees other messages. So, many testing and measurement reports tell us that the Picture in the Ads have main role for attracting users attention.

Also, the second attention attracting part is the Title.

According to this, when someone sees your ad and clicks on it, he expects to see more information on the same thing that he clicked on.

For better Facebook Relevance Score,

  1. Landing Page Headline needs to be same as Facebook Ad Headline.
  2. Landing Page Picture needs to be as like Facebook Ad Picture.

Let’s see examples:

Facebook Ad Landing Page Picture Alignment Image

People expect to see same on Landing Page, but with more information:

Facebook Ad - Landing Page Picture Alignment Image

Here you can see that the Picture on the Facebook Ad is not the same as the picture on the Landing Page. Visitors may be confused when they see different pictures. So, for better Relevance you need to align pictures in Facebook Ad and into Landing Page, like this:

Facebook Ad Landing Page Alignment

Be careful to align Headlines too. If visitors don’t realize that they are on right place in the first 10 sec, than they will leave your page.

# 2 Call to Action needs to be above the fold

Every Landing Page needs to have Call to Action – Big Green button:)

Why spend your money if you send visitors to your Landing Page for nothing, only to read your message.

You need to call your visitors to take some action for example:

  • Place a call
  • Send you Email
  • Signup for Something
  • Download App
  • RSVP for Event
  • Claim Offer

Place this Call to Action Button or Text Link above the fold. What is Above the Fold? This is the visible part of the Webpage when you open it, the part that you see without scrolling down.

So, for better performance and Facebook Ad Relevance, place Call to Action in the upper part of the page.

Let’s look at the example picture from above for the Skin Care event Landing Page. This is Above the Fold and there is no Call to Action button in this part, only Follow Us on Social Media.

If you scroll little down you will see the real Call to Action button:

Facebook Ads Call to Action Button Picture

# 3 List Product or Service Benefits on your Landing Page

It is good to know that people want to read about benefits and what’s in it for them. You can list features down on the page, but in Above the Fold part you should put main benefit in Headline and list all other benefits that visitors will get.

# 4 Test everything

For best Facebook Ads results, you need to tweak your ad and let it run for some period.

How can you test your ad?

First you can test different pictures. Create Ad with one picture (same as on the Landing Page) and let it run min 3 days. Then change only the picture (both on the Landing page and in the Ad) and let the text and targeting stay the same. Move on with better performing picture. after that you can test Headline, change only Headline and nothing else.

Try targeting different audiences with the same Ad and see which audience reacts better on your Ads.

After some iteration, and if you are satisfied with the results you can leave the best performing Facebook Ad with the best Relevance score.

Following these tips you can achieve good Facebook Ads Relevance Score, thus better performing Facebook Ads.

Want to know our tests, targeting and Relevance scores?

We are publishing a “Facebook Ads Test Challenge” with our latest Ads tests and results.

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What to expect for Facebook Ads CPC (Cost Per Click)

When you start creating your Facebook Ads first thing you do is choose your objective, then you choose your Targeted audience, and then come the spending options. Facebook asks: How much do you want to spend?

After you choose your budget and schedule, you are give the option to optimize that budget. The default option is to pay for impressions (CPM) for your ad. Facebook optimizes your ad to be shown to people who are most likely to take actions that will help you meet your objective within your target audience.

However, Facebook offers you to set your bidding to be optimized for other things, like clicks (CPC). If you are advertising an external website, an app, event or a Page, this option lets you have better control over your spent.

how_much_to_spend_on_facebook img

What is CPC for Facebook?

First of all, CPC is an abbreviation for Cost Per Click.

Facebook Ads CPC img

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CPC: Cost per click for all clicks on your ad. The amount you’re charged each time someone interacts with your ad. Your total charges are based on the amount you spent on the ad divided by all clicks the ad received.


This way, you pay only when someone clicks on your ad, no matter how many times your ad is shown.

CPC is a good option if your objective is to send people to your website, because Facebook optimizes your ad to find the people who will most likely click on your ad.

How is Facebook Ads CPC measured?

Facebook has updated the way CPC is measured for the Facebook Ads.

“This update is intended to help advertisers better understand how their ads perform against their objective.”, they say.

Before these changes, a click on your Ad was: like, share comment, click on the ad, click on the link, click on the button…

The total number of click included every click that was connected with the Ad, both offsite (link clicks, app installs, button clicks, event responses) and onsite (post likes, page likes, post shares, comments).

Now, after the changes, a click on your Ad is an offsite click only, depending on your objective:

  • Clicks to visit another website
  • Call-to-action clicks that go to another website (i.e., “Shop Now”)
  • Clicks to install an app
  • Clicks to Facebook canvas apps
  • Clicks to view a video on another website

“Separating link clicks from engagement clicks (including likes and comments) means your budget will be spent more efficiently no matter if you bid for clicks or engagement.”, says Facebook.

How much to expect Facebook Ads CPC to be?

If are trying to find out how much a click for your ads will be, before you create the Ads, there isn’t.

However, you can estimate the cost for your ads, and give your own Cost per Click, in the Pricing section, when you start creating your ads. Facebook will give you suggestion on how much your bid should be, according to your targeted audience.

set_facebook_ads_cpc img

You should have in mind that, when you run your ad, you will only be charged for the number of clicks you receive (CPC). Also, you will be charged maximum your bid for CPC, sometimes even less, but not more than that.

The amount that you are charged for your Ads won’t exceed your daily or lifetime budget.

What is the minimum Facebook CPC?

The smallest bid you can enter as a cost per click is $0.01. However, if you want your ad to be served right to your targeted audience, you have to consider the Suggested bid that Facebook gives you.

What about the maximum CPC?

Your maximum bid for a cost per click depends on your daily budget. It must be less than your daily budget. And, if you want to place a higher bid, you need to raise your daily budget.

However, your daily budget has to be at least two times the amount of your bid. For example, if you bid $1.00 for a click, your daily budget needs to be at least $2.00.

When to pay for impressions (CPM) and when for clicks (CPC)?

You should look on impressions as views of your ad. So, when you are trying to build awareness and show the audience your existence, you should go for impressions, thus optimize Cost per Mile.

But, when you want to take your audience to your website, app, event i.e. take them outside Facebook, go for CPC. Because, with the new measurement of Facebook CPC, you can see how the targeted audience is reacting on your Ads.

How can you achieve low CPC?

The lower the Cost per Click the higher the Click through Rate would be. That means that you will get more links to your website or more interactions with your Facebook Ads.

That is why you have to target lower CPCs. But, how to achieve that?

By testing. There isn’t a magic formula that you can implement one time and do that. Facebook Ads may seem like an easy job, but they aren’t. They require a lot of testing so that you achieve good results for your Cost per Click.

Testing means changing and experimenting with:

  • The creative part of the ad
    • Image – especially
    • Text
  • The targeted Audience
    • By age and gender
    • Demographics
    • Interests
    • Devices (Desktop or Mobile)

What is your experience with Facebook Ads CPC? Have you reached the famous cent? Share it with us!

Or, maybe you don’t have time to test and experiment with your Facebook Ads. Why don’t you let us help you!

Facebook Ads Get a Quote Picture


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Facebook ad guidelines

Facebook Ads GuidelinesIf you want to advertise on Facebook, you need to know the basic Facebook ad guidelines.

There are strict Facebook Advertisement Polices that you need to follow to create Facebook Ads successfully. And, there are general rules for creating Facebook Ads that will perform better.

In this article I will break down both Strict and General rules that are good to follow when you create Facebook Ads.

Facebook Ads can be very effective if you know how to use them right.

Define your goals (general rule)

Like every marketing activity the first step is to define goals.

Keep in mind, setting goals is the most important step for every marketing campaign. If you don’t have a goal defined, you can’t measure success.

In this step, it is important to realize that Facebook is for:

  • communication,
  • interaction and
  • connection with consumers.

Also, you can use Facebook to determine consumers’ behavior and needs, so you can easily promote your product.

Ad content (general rule)

Be different if you want to be noticed. Because you have to stand out to get more clicks, you will have to work through good ad copy. If you offer quality content, there is great possibility they will click.

The ad copy must include:

  • proper use of grammar,
  • symbols, and
  • numbers or letters per their actual meanings.

Facebook Word In Ad ImageSTRICT RULE:

If you want to mention Facebook in your ad, make sure to follow the rules to write “Facebook” with a capital “F”, and to display the word “Facebook” in the same font size and style as the content surrounding it.

All components of an ad, must be relevant to the product or service being offered and the audience viewing the ad.


That means no deceptive, false, or misleading content, including deceptive claims, offers, or business practices.

Facebook Ad Landing Page Picture

Landing page (general rule)

Landing pages must be directly related to the ad headline and must clearly present the product or service being promoted in your Facebook ad.

Ads and landing page must be consistent. So, if you are promoting discount on the ad, the same offer must be highlighted in your landing page.

In addition, landing pages can only contain content, products, or services approved by Facebook Ad Guidelines.


Strictly forbidden content are one that is inappropriate, illegal or unsafe.

Simple but important remark is to make sure that destination URL functions properly in all browsers. Make sure to display key business elements like contact details, privacy policy, business name, terms of use and logo.

Use Facebook for targeting (general rule)

Facebook Ads Targeted Audience ImageYes, it is important to have creative ad copy, but also you’ll have to be creative in finding ways for better promotion and better reach, and ultimately for selling. Facebook helps you make smaller groups with common grounds, which is the best way for good targeting. Effective targeting means half of the job done. In that manner your ad will be more efficient. Facebook provides 11 targeting factors for advertisers:

  • location,
  • age,
  • birthday,
  • sex,
  • keywords,
  • education,
  • workplaces,
  • relationship,
  • interests,
  • languages,
  • connections.

In that way you can make very specific Facebook ads with more odds of success, instead of one big ad designed for all.


If you are targeting alcohol, dating of adult products, you must hold on to Facebook Advertising Policies.

Connect with your consumers (general rule)

Facebook ad is the most effective way to get close to your audience, but it is not good for direct sales. So use that benefit in your behalf. By using Facebook tools like “Become a Fan” of “RSVP” to an event, you can easily interact and communicate with your customers. This form of relationship building helps you find and build long-term customers and that is the most important part of Facebook marketing. One of the main Facebook policies is caring about the user experience. And that’s why you need to blend in the sea of people interaction and everyday activity.

Rules of using images (strict rules)

Images in promoted post cannot have more than 20% text, including logos and slogans.

Facebook Ads Grid Tool ImageThis guideline applies to all Facebook ads, including video thumbnails. This rule sometimes can be confusing, especially if you are not a graphic person.

Also, images cannot use:

  • political,
  • sexual of sensitive issues,
  • neither can use shock tactics.

Images cannot use Facebook brand images without permission and images for users under 18 must be appropriate for that age group.

Also, images that emphasize an ”ideal body”, or ones showing unlikely results, like “before and after images”, are not allowed. Images should not use “Play” icon, if they are linking to an external site, in order to trick users into thinking that they are clicking on a video.

Research and monitor ad performance

Facebook Ads Results ImageWhen you are already out there, make sure to perform two activities:

  • research and
  • monitoring.

Make research of other advertisers to easily get free information. Then compare with them, what they have that you don’t, and try to make extra effort of performing better. Make changes that you’ve found to be effective in order to improve your advertising.

Facebook helps you with many monitoring tools for every campaign you are running. You can use Measure Results in Ads Manager where you can find many steps to determine your Ads’ performance and whether or not you are getting preferred audience response.

At the end of the Facebook ad guidelines, Facebook underlines that they reserve the right to reject, approve or remove any ad for any reason.

So, be sure to follow all the guidelines, but do not be surprised when the rules change. And if you want to become master with Facebook Ads, then read these Facebook Advertisement Tips.

Facebook Ads Get a Quote Picture